Learning experiences

We support our children to be confident, articulate and creative learners through exciting experiences which have real meaning for them.

Our "curriculum" follows the EYFS and is split into the 3 Prime Areas and 4 Specific Areas

The Prime Areas are:

  • Personal Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and language

These are the 3 areas of learning which form the foundations for learning.

The specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design

These are the four areas through which the prime areas are "strengthened and applied".

These  7 areas are all underpinned by the Characteristics of Effective Learning:

  • Playing and exploring
  • Engagement
  • Active learning
  • Motivation
  • Creating and thinking critically
  • Thinking

We believe children are learning all of the time and we know through their play children are thinking deeply and learning about themselves, the world and others.